Youngsters strike late to claim point

Yacoub Mustafa (pictured) and Michael Domfeh provided the goals as Glory's NPL WA side fought out an entertaining 2-2 draw with Balcatta FC at Ashfield Arena.

The result means that John Gibson's side remain unbeaten so far this term having downed Perth SC in last week's season-opener.

But they earned their draw the hard way, falling behind when Adriano Jelenovic capitalised upon a defensive mix-up to fire the visitors in front with just six minutes on the clock.

Mustafa duly restored parity early in the second half, capping a surging run with a composed finish, only for Anton De Francesch to restore Balcatta's lead ten minutes later with a similarly impressive solo effort.

Just as Glory looked set to be edged out, however, Domfeh took full advantage of a pocket of space in the box to rattle home his first goal of the campaign in the final minute of normal time.

While generally happy with the performance, Head Coach Gibson was disappointed by the nature of the goals his side conceded.

“We created a lot of chances and had a lot of the ball, but we didn’t take those chances,"he said.

“Two crucial errors from trying to play out from the back cost us and we got punished for it.”

In Saturday's other games, the Under-18s and Under-20s also fought out 2-2 draws in their respective games.

The youngsters return to action next Sunday with another home fixture at Ashfield, this time against Joondalup United.

The Under-18s get things going at 1pm, the Under-20s start at 3pm and the first team game is at 5pm.

Match Details

Perth Glory 2 (Mustafa 51', Domfeh 90')
Balcatta FC 2 (Jelenovic 6', De Francesch 61')
Saturday, 3rd March, 2018
Ashfield Arena
Kick Off: 5pm
Referee: Steven Gregory

Perth Glory: 1. Jackson LEE (GK), 2. Luca BODNAR, 3. Walter SCOTT, 4. Riley WARLAND, 5. Ollie ANNIS, 6. Callum TIMMINS, 7. Chok DAU (14. Michael DOMFEH 73), 8. Henry HORE, 9. Joseph KNOWLES, 10. Daniel STYNES (12. Jack LEECH 63’), 11. Yacoub MUSTAFA (13. Trent OSTLER 83') 
Substitutes not used: 15.Daniel WALSH, 20. Nicolas SPECA (RGK) 
Yellow Card: Timmins 62 
Red Cards: Nil

Balcatta FC: 25. Kyle MCDONALD (GK), 2. Joseph MARINO, 3. Hayden STEVENS, 4. Calum O’CONNELL (C), 5. Tom PELLIZARRI, 6. Kris GATE (12. Anton DE FRANCESCH 58’), 8. Carmelo GIUFFRE,9. Dejan ANDRIC (17. Brody KENNEDY 63’), 11. Renee ALBA, 15. Adriano JELENOVIC, 24. Angel DEJKOVSKI (7. Mathew MCROBERTS-OLANSO 36’) 
Substitutes not used: 1.Domenico SAVOLDELLI (RGK), 20. Shubham MOKALA 
Yellow Cards: Nil 
Red Cards: Nil

[With thanks to Matthew Corvi and Football West.]