Youngsters secure away point

Chok Dau and Yagoub Mustafa both found the net as Glory's Foxtel Y-League side secured a 2-2 draw with Adelaide United at the Marden Sports Complex.

Pacifique Niyongabire put the hosts in front on 20 minutes before Dau restored parity early in the second half, rounding Daniel Margush in the home goal and stroking the ball into the empty net.

12 minutes later the Reds restored their lead from the penalty spot, Charlie Devereux converting after Niyongabire had been brought down in the box, but Glory responded once again when Dau turned provider, cutting the ball back neatly for Mustafa who finished in style.

Mustafa then had a great chance to seal all three points for the visitors right at the death, but fired over and while quick to applaud his charges' performance, Head Coach John Gibson was left disappointed that they were unable to secure what would have been a first win of the season.

"We dominated the game again today, but didn't capitalise upon the chances that we created," he said.

"We conceded two very soft goals which made life difficult, but it was still a fantastic away performance.

"We overran them in the second half and should have come away with more than one point.

"Chok was good, as was Jackson Lee. They were all fantastic and put in a strong, mature performance.

"[Adelaide 'keeper] Daniel Margush saved three or four certain goals, so it was a hard one to take."

Glory return to action on Saturday 13th January when they host Melbourne City at Dorrien Gardens (kick off at 10.00am)

Match Details

Foxtel Youth League Round 6

Adelaide United 2 (Niyongabire 20', Devereux (pen) 67') Perth Glory 2 (Dau 55', Mustafa 72')

Half-time 1-0

Marden Sports Complex

Referee: Samuel Kuys

Adelaide United: 1.Daniel Margush (GK), 2.Cooper Nunn, 4. Jared Clark (6.Noah Smith 58'), 5.Kyle Crout, 7.Liam McCabe, 8.Pacifique Niyongabire, 9.Ninko Beric (11.Jai King-Byrne 84'), 10.Charlie Devereux, 15.Ryan Yates, 17.Louis D'Arrigo, 19.Aladin Irabona (12.Bradley Ballentine 78')

Substitutes not used: 20.Cameron Cook

Yellow cards: Crout

Red cards: None

Perth Glory: 1.Jackson Lee (GK), 2.Luke Bodnar, 3.Hayden Stevens, 4.Walter Scott, 5.Oliver Annis, 6.Callum Timmins (12.Michael McDougall 45'), 7.Jack Leech, 8.Bayley Brown-Montgomery, (14.Michael Domfeh 64', 13.Gomo Dukuly 90+3'), 9.Chok Dau, 10.Henry Hore, 11.Yagoub Mustafa

Substitutes not used: 20.Kyle McDonald

Yellow cards: Bodnar

Red cards: None