Velaphi, "I'm ready"

Perth Glory goalkeeper Tando Velaphi says he’s ready to return to action against the Brisbane Roar on Saturday at ME Bank Stadium.

Perth Glory goalkeeper Tando Velaphi says he-s ready to return to action against the Brisbane Roar on Saturday at ME Bank Stadium.

After missing two games with a quadriceps injury, the young star is desperate to play ahead of the finals.

“I had a good hit-out today and the day before, so I-m available for selection and now it-s up to the coach,” Velaphi said

But the 22 year old refused to say if any other injured players would return for the massive match.

“It-s confidential.”

Socceroos Mile Sterjovski and Jacob Burns have also missed the last two games against Central Coast and Sydney FC but the duo will be given until Saturday to prove their fitness.

Chris Coyne will also be monitored after he picked up a cork on Wednesday.

With one game to play before the finals, the Glory is fifth, just one point behind Wellington.

The Phoenix plays Central Coast tomorrow and if they win, Perth can not host a final.

“We-ll just concentrate on ourselves. You can-t control what other teams do, so as long as we win, we-ll be in the best shape possible for the finals.”

But Velaphi would love to play a final at ME Bank stadium, having grown up supporting Perth Glory.

“If we get a home final, I think we-ll get a bumper crowd. I used to come down here back in the glory days when I was a young fella, so it would be great to emulate that and this time be out on the field.

“It-s obviously very exciting for not only the fans but also ourselves. I think the last five weeks we-ve been playing pretty well and we-ll go into the games with a lot of confidence and hopefully get to the grand final because that is our aim.”

Saturday 13 February 2010 Perth Glory v Brisbane Roar ME bank Stadium, Perth Local Kick-Off: 4.00pm Referee: Peter Green

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1 and 1 HD and Sky Sport 2 (delayed). Hyundai A-League club radio broadcast partner is 882 6PR (Perth). To purchase tickets visit

Perth Glory Squad:1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Danny McBreen, 3.Jamie COYNE, 4.Andy TODD, 5.Jamie HARNWELL, 6.Chris COYNE, 7. Jacob BURNS, 10. Wayne SRHOJ, 11. Branko JELIC, 12.Scott NEVILLE, 13.Scott BULLOCH, 14. Steven McGARRY, 16.Adriano PELLEGRINO, 17.Todd HOWARTH, 19.Naum SEKULOVSKI, 20.Aleks VRTESKI (gk), 21.Mile STERJOVSKI, 23.Andrija JUKIC, 28. Tommy AMPHLETT *four to be omitted*

In: Tando VELAPHI, Jacob BURNS, Branko JELIC, Adriano PELLEGRINO, Mile Sterjovski (all return from injury)

Out: Nil

Unavailable: Viktor SIKORA (Thigh - 1 week)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Matt HAM (gk), 2. Andrew PACKER, 3. Luke DEVERE, 4. Pieter COLLEN, 7. Michael ZULLO, 8. Massimo MURDOCCA, 9. Sergio VAN DIJK, 10. Steven BRYCE, 11. REINALDO, 13. HENRIQUE, 14. Adam SAROTA, 17. Mitch NICHOLS, 20. Griffin McMASTER (gk), 21. Tommy OAR, 22. Ivan FRANJIC

In: Mitch NICHOLS (promoted)

Out: Matt McKAY (suspended - 1 week)

Unavailable: Nil

Head-to-Head: All matches (played 14): Perth Glory wins 2, Brisbane Roar wins 9 (3 draws)