Match Preview: Glory target final flourish

In their final game of the regular Westfield W-League season, Bobby Despotovski's side take on the 8th-placed Western Sydney Wanderers at nib Stadium on Sunday (kick off at 8.15pm).

Last week's thrilling 4-4 draw with Canberra United in Bunbury may have been a memorable occasion, but the result severely dented Glory's finals hopes. Perth remains a mathematical chance of reaching the top four, but they are now relying upon other results around the league this weekend going in their favour.

Despite the harsh reality, the team is determined to finish the season on a high-note and will be giving everything to keep their slender chance alive in front of the home crowd.

Western Sydney, meanwhile, are out of contention for the finals but will be hoping to avoid the wooden spoon with a positive result.

Record Breaker: Sam Kerr

Kerr and Hill

In what has been another stellar campaign for the trailblazing Glory skipper, with her hat-trick on Sunday earning her yet another coveted accolade. The well-taken treble against Canberra means that Kerr is now the club's all-time record goalscorer having overtaken her former striker partner, Kate Gill. 

Last Time We Met: Western Sydney Wanderers 0-1 Perth Glory 


It was a good old-fashioned arm-wrestle the last time the two sides faced each other at Marconi Stadium, with Kerr's 50th-minute-strike enough to secure a hard-fought win for Glory. The captain was able to coolly round an onrushing Jada Whyman before slotting home after the Wanderers had squandered a number of golden chances in the first-half. 

Match Details

Sunday, 28 January 2018

Perth Glory v Western Sydney Wanderers FC

nib Stadium, Perth

Kick-Off: 8:15pm (Local) (11:15pm (AEDT))

Referee: Casey Reibelt

Assistant Referee 1: Matthew Southern

Assistant Referee 2: Adrien Liechti

Fourth Official: Shane Skinner

Tickets: Click HERE

Please note that A-League prices apply for this game due to it being a double-header.

The Hyundai A-League game kicks off at 5.30pm

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WLeague #YGHAT

Perth Glory Squad: 3.Kim CARROLL, 4.Natasha RIGBY, 5.Patricia CHARALAMBOUS, 7.Nicole STANTON, 8.Shawn BILLAM, 9.Rachel HILL, 10.Raquel RODRIGUEZ, 11.Nicola BOLGER, 12.Shannon MAY, 13.Jaymee GIBBONS, 15.Alexia MORENO,16.Amanda FRISBIE, 17.Marianna TABAIN, 18.Melissa MAIZELS (Gk), 20.Samantha KERR (c), 30.Morgan AQUINO (Gk)

**one to be omitted**

Ins: 11.Nicola BOLGER (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 1.Gabby DAL BUSCO (Gk) (arm – 1 week)

Western Sydney Wanderers FC Squad: 1.Jada WHYMAN (Gk), 2.Maruschka WALDUS, 4.Chloe O’BRIEN, 5.Kahlia HOGG, 6.Lo’eau LABONTA, 7.Ellie BRUSH, 8.Erica HALLOWAY, 10.Lee FALKON, 11.Marlous PIEETE, 12.Rachel LOWE, 13.Olivia PRICE, 14.Sunny FRANCO, 15.Talitha KRAMER, 16.Alix ROBERTS, 19.Susan PHONSONGKHAM, 30.Nicole SIMONSEN (Gk)

**one to be omitted**

Ins: 4.Chloe O’BRIEN (promoted),, 5.Kahlia HOGG (promoted), 14.Sunny FRANCO (promoted)

Outs: 3.Jennifer BISSET (not selected), 18.Alexandra HUYNH (not selected)

Unavailable: Nil