Canberra prove too strong for Glory

Perth Glory Women have been defeated 4-1 by Canberra United at 6PR Stadium after reigning Westfield W-League Player of the Year Michelle Heyman starred with a hat-trick on debut.

Perth Glory Women have been defeated 4-1 by Canberra United at 6PR Stadium after reigning Westfield W-League Player of the Year Michelle Heyman starred with a hat-trick on debut.

With Westfield Matildas coach Tom Sermanni watching on, the Glory began the match well and pressured the Canberra defence well with Kate Gill and Sam Kerr causing all sorts of problems.

Sally Shipard-s first game in the W-League was also a memorable one, with the midfielder dominant throughout the match and registered the first shot at goal, with a long-range effort that sailed just over the crossbar.

At the other end of the park, Gill tried her luck from the edge of the penalty area and saw her effort end up hitting the left goal post after a fantastic fingertip save from Lydia Williams.

Kerr was in the thick of things again for Perth, after going on a strong run, slipping over, getting back to her feet and registering a cracking shot which missed the target by inches.

A defensive lapse from the Glory then allowed Caitlin Munoz to find the ever-present Heyman, who made no mistake from close range with a great shot across her body to find the back of the net.

Perth were by no means out of the contest and a fantastic in-swinging Marianna Tabain corner deceived goalkeeper Williams and allowed Gill to get the final touch over the goal line and level the scores, much to the delight of the Glory faithful.

The scores remained the same until the beginning of the second half, where Canberra began to flex their muscle with youngster Emily Van Egmond starring on the right wing.

After being given too much space by Carys Hawkins, Van Egmond was able to find Cian Maciejewski who made no mistake from point blank range and make it 2-1 for the visitors.

Glory continued to press and after the United defence failed to clear a Tanya Oxtoby free-kick, the ball landed to 2009 Most Glorious Player Shannon May who rocketed home a shot from distance, which thundered into the upright.

Van Egmond then got away a shot which hit the post and the rebound was perfect for Heyman, who notched her second goal past Tine Cederkvist with ease.

The match was then completed in the 87th minute, when Heyman completed her hat-trick after a near finish to seal the match for Canberra.

Perth Glory Women coach John Gibson admits that his side was not up to the challenge.

“It just wasn-t good enough at the end of the day,” he said.

“Most of their players were better than our players all over the park.

“(Collette McCallum) missing was always going to be a big loss in the middle for us.

“There-s a lot to improve on, we have to be looking a whole lot of things for the Adelaide game next week.”

Next week will see Perth take on Adelaide United at nib Stadium on Saturday November 13 with kick-off at 12pm.

The match will also be the third annual National Breast Cancer Foundation fundraiser.


Perth Glory Women 1 (Gill 41-) Canberra United Women 4 (Heyman 33- 70- 87-, Maciejewski 57-) Round One - Westfield W-League Venue: 6PR Stadium, Inglewood Kick-off: 3.00pm Referee: Catherine Hoffman Crowd: 423

PERTH GLORY WOMEN: 1 Tine CEDERKVIST, 2 Stacey LEARMONT (15 Jaymee GIBBONS 77-), 3 Carys HAWKINS, 4 Samantha KERR, 5 Shannon MAY, 6 Alexandra SINGER, 7 Alexandra NILSSON, 8 Tanya OXTOBY (c), 12 Kate GILL, 13 Elisa D-OVIDIO, 17 Marianna TABAIN (11 Lara FILOCAMO 78-)


CANBERRA UNITED WOMEN: 1 Lydia WILLIAMS, 2 Caitlin COOPER, 3 Lyndsay GLOHE, 4 Michelle HEYMAN, 6 Caitlin MUNOZ (5 Kahlie HOGG 70-), 7 Ellie BRUSH, 10 Emily VAN EGMOND, 11 Cian MACIEWJEWSKI, 15 Sally SHIPARD, 16 Ellyse PERRY, 19 Jennifer BISSET (8 Shu O TSENG 62-)

SUBS NOT USED: 20 Jocelyn MARA, 5 Kahlia HOGG, 9 Grace GILL